Bioinformatics

Join me @Public Webminar “The Human Genomic Data Access Bottleneck” Fri 27th Jan 1pm UTC


unnamed

H3ABioNet Seminars’ series

The H3ABionet Seminar co-ordinating team on behalf of the H3ABioNet Research Working Group cordially invite you to join us for the January 2017 H3ABioNet seminar under the theme of: “Access to personal genomes”.

Seminar Format: A seminar talk will be provided by a distinguished scientist who is currently an active champion in the areas of open access to genomic data and the challenges therein. The talk will be 40 to 50 minutes long and followed by a 10 to 15-minute of discussion and Q/A.

Seminar Date: Friday 27th January 2017
Seminar time: 1pm UTC / 2pm WAT / 3pm CAT / 4pm EAT
URL to join the seminar: https://mconf.sanren.ac.za/webconf/h3abionet_seminars

The Human Genomic Data Access Bottleneck

Common practice suggests that human-origin genome data should be deposited in public repositories for further reuse. The current system for finding and accessing deposited genome datasets, however, is cumbersome and not scalable, leading to a huge loss of mining opportunities. Here I argue that established public efforts for maintaining and archiving controlled access genome datasets are barely serving their purposes of enabling data re-utilisation; and that in order to address this bottleneck, access protocols and dataset descriptors require better coordination and standardisation.

manuel-corpas-web

Presenter: Dr Manuel Corpas is the Scientific Lead at Repositive, a Cambridge start-up company focusing on efficient human genomic data discovery, access and sharing. He is a 2016 fellow of the Software Sustainability Institute and Board of Directors of the International Society for Computational Biology. Previously he was Technical Coordinator of the European Pan-Infrastructure ELIXIR-UK, coordinator of the BioJS open source community and Chair of the Technical Committee for the Global Organisation for Bioinformatics Learning, Education and Training (GOBLET). Manuel holds a Ph.D. in Bioinformatics from the University of Manchester, UK, and did his postdoctoral research in clinical genomics at the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, Cambridge, developing the DECIPHER database. He also received an M.Sc. in Bioinformatics from the University of Manchester, and a B.Sc. in Biology from the University of Navarra, Spain. He has over 40 scientific publications.

unnamed

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s